Noob friendly expressions

Are there any easy tutorials/examples for at least the basic/most important expressions.
I am not a programmer, so they should have a noob friendly documentation.
And are After Effects expessions usable here in Natron?

Hi Mondayman,

I think the only document available is in the Natron documentation :
http://natron.readthedocs.io/en/master/devel/paramExpressions.html

This doc is not very noob friendly, but you may find a few things to start with.
I think the most common After Effect expression is the wiggle one, that in natron translate to random()
From this document I read to type random(1,10) to get a random value between 1 and 10. Never played with this myself tho.
you can use also the frame variable. Just type frame*2 to get a value of 20 at frame 10.
you can combine both of them like with random(0,frame) (not sure how this is useful but … anyway)

You’ll need to translate a bit from After Effect expression into Python or into natron specific commands, but that may be easier than it sound. Python is a very simple language that you can learn quickly even if you’re not a programmer. And most of the expressions stuff is like take a value of a node , do basic math and apply it to a value of another node.

If you’ve got an example of something to translate from After to Natron don’t hesitate to post it, that can be a good exercice for us to see how this can be done.

Good luck with all this, at first it may be a bit painful but if you’re serious about CG, learning a bit of python and this stuff will help you many time, as many CG software include python nowadays…

Thanks sozap,

at this time I dont have a particular expression that I need to use. I just do some little tests now and then to learn Natron/nodal compositing, comming from layer based comp… But when in need I will post here some expressions for translations.