getRegionsOfInterest and MultiThreading process action

Hi everyone,

I’m new to OFX programming.
I decided to make a first simple image processing plugin, based on the ofx-MISC invert.cpp example.
,so I’m following the basic guides, examples, API’s, etc.

I aim to do a simple local averaging (blur) with the spatial radius as the only parameter, to keep things simple.

I would like to know how should be managed the args.regionOfInterest and getRegionsOfInterest Action in order to make multithreading processing.
This is necessary because to blur a portion of the image per thread, I need to pad the input rectangle image with margins depending on the patch radius.

I need to do multithreading because I want to make more expensive processing in the future. I know the whole processing could be done within the render action and it should be easier.

In the invert example (which is per-pixel algorithm), we have:

multiThreadProcessImages(OfxRectI procWindow)

this calls the process function which do the whole processing of a single rectangle portion of the entire RoD dstClip , one per thread:

void process(const OfxRectI& procWindow) {

for (int y = procWindow.y1; y < procWindow.y2; y++) {
for (int x = procWindow.x1; x < procWindow.x2; x++) {

Here should process the dstPix components.

}}}

So how is the procWindow coords related to RoI coords in general?
should I preprocess the image somehow?
Should I pass to the process functions the RoI coordinates values , to be able to adress pixels out of the procWindow?

I could implement the getRegionsOfInterest action but now I got confused on how to use it in the processing step.

Thanks in advance for any reply.

The getRegionsOfInterest action must return what you need in input.
The getRegionOfDefinition action must return what size you output.

For plug-ins that do not need to modify the output region or don’t need extra pixels in input you may not implement these actions which by default have a correct behaviour.